Behind the scenes.

I recently bought these two old albums from a thrift-store for a bargain. The photo album has black pages and the scrapbook has cream colored pages, both have string tied closures. Inside the Scrapbook is a sheet of paper stating that it is Scrapbook No. 233, a Springfield product made by Springfield Photo Mount Co. Holyoke, Mass, U.S.A. There is a price sticker on for Kresge’s of .89 c.  They are  Circa 1950’s or 60’s. Aren’t they beautiful?  There weren’t any photos in them and it doesn’t look as if there ever were.  I might use the albums one day, but I thought until then they will make nice props. Nikon D70 ©

I recently bought a Clothes rack, which I find quite handy, you can find something similar at Ikea. I got the idea for a Backdrop Stand from Easy Peasy Pie. Nikon D70 ©

I hang a curtain from it and use it as a backdrop when photographing my scrapbook layouts. Nikon D70 ©

I used this curtain as a backdrop for my Mexico layout. I have a few picture frames, which I use to prop up my layouts. The pottery  was bought at San Jose Flea Market, on a previous visit to San Francisco. Nikon D70

Here I hung a black cloth behind and a patchwork pillow sham covers the plank on top of the bars and creates a floor. Nikon D70 ©

I used this set up to photograph some of our Family Heirlooms. Nikon D70 ©

I also attach my finished scrapbook layouts on my magnetic board with magnets, when I photograph them. I use a flash diffuser, to prevent the camera’s flash  from reflecting on the photos. I remove the magnets in Adobe Photoshop with the clone stamp tool. Please click here for a  Tutorial. Corel Paint ShopPro has a Clone Brush. I also correct the perspective with Adobe Photoshop. Nikon D 70. Here is a great Tutorial on how to do Perspective Distortion Correction.


I put a large wooden cutting board against the wall in my craft-room.


I then cover it with a cloth, which I tuck in behind the board.


Then I put my layout on a stand in front of it, you can see this layout here.

The backgrounds and headers for my blog are made the same way. Here is the photo before. Nikon D70 ©.

Graphic after.
Nikon D70 ©

This photo was taken from above.
Nikon D300 ©

The photo is tiled in Adobe Photoshop to make a background.

Seamless Repeating Tile Background

This photo was taken from above.
Nikon D300 ©
Please click for more Graphics.

Crazy Quilt Embellishment Assortment- Blue Light from Nifty Thrifty Dry Goods.

What Katie ate.

Creating myself creatively

Are you inspired?

Photographing your scrapbook layouts.

DIY COPY STAND – Scrappy Jedi

Photographing project life by Ali Edwards.

Food photography 101 by Mom advice

Rick Braveheart has some excellent photos and great tips on he’s website “The Great American Landscape.”

How do you photograph your crafts?

Further reading.

How To: Photograph Your Scrapbook Pages by Crystal Jeffrey Rieger

Photographing Layouts

Shoot to Sell: Taking Better Photos for eBay, Etsy & Instructables

About Tokeloshe

Welcome and thank you for visiting my Blog. I have been happily married for 40 years and we have two adorable grandsons. We have been living in Canada for over 15 years, but we are originally from South-Africa. I'm bilingual and my first language is Afrikaans. I love scrap-booking, blogging, working on the computer ; I am also interested in photography, genealogy, reading, hiking, camping, arts and crafts.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Crafts, Graphics, Photos, Scrap-booking, Scrapbooking, Tutorial and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Behind the scenes.

  1. colonialist says:

    Those two old albums are really lovely. A really good find.
    What inventive ideas! You have given me much food for thought.


    • Tokeloshe says:

      They were both the same price, but at first I only took one, as I thought I didn’t have a use for them, but when I got to the till, hubby fetched the other one, for which I’m so glad.
      Good, but now I am curious . ;-)


  2. Tammy says:

    This is probably great evidence that I will not become a great photographer. You are so patient!


  3. Tandy says:

    Antique photo albums, that’s a great find! Love the photoshop hints :)


  4. Zirkie says:

    Beautiful albums and what an inspirational post!


Leave a Reply

